Cannot delete file in my Google Drive...message 'one removed file is still accessible by collaborators in Google Drive'

I'm trying to delete some files of an ex that I have in Google Drive. When I try to delete I get a message 'one removed file is still accessible by collaborators in Google Drive'. The files still remain very much visible in my Google Drive. Why can I not delete these files from my Drive?