Does removing a user from an organization revoke their personal access tokens?

As the question suggests, does removing a user from a VSTS / Azure DevOps organization also revoke any Personal Access Tokens? I assume they do but I have not been able to find any documentation for this from Microsoft.

Thanks!

1 answer

  • answered 2018-10-12 05:48 Andy Li-MSFT

    No, based on my test if you remove users from an organization it will remove their permissions permanently, that means you cannot access the organization anymore.

    But the existing PATs will not be revoked automatically. If you add the specific user back, you can still see the PATs under Security.

    (Check that by navigating to https://{Account}.visualstudio.com/_usersSettings/tokens)

    enter image description here